Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Review: Selah's Album, "Hope of the Broken World"

I love Selah, especially when they sing hymns :)! They have very beautiful voices. I was so excited to have an opportunity to review their newest album, "Hope of the Broken World" which is released today!

This album includes 12 songs:
  1. On the Mountain
  2. Hope of the Broken World (see a music video below)
  3. Shelter Me
  4. Coat of Many Colors (written by Dolly Parton)
  5. He'll Hold You
  6. Be Still
  7. Moments Like These
  8. I Turn to You
  9. Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus (a hymn written by Louisa M.R. Stead, c.1850-1917)
  10. Threshold of Glory
  11. I Look to You
  12. When Love Was Slain
My husband and I enjoyed listening to this album. It consists of various styles of music. Shelter Me (based on Psalm 91) is a fun song with country music feel. Coat of Many Colors is a folk song/story-telling song. Selah did a cool rendition of an old hymn, Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus, with a bonus of singing in African language (Did you know that Todd Smith, one of the singers, grew up in Africa?). Moments Like These is such a tender song about children and parents; it made me cry. On the Mountain is an upbeat, catchy song. Hope of the Broken World is a soothing song about Jesus who is the Light and Hope of the World. Some of my favorites are #2, #7, #9, and #12. All songs have great lyrics/encouraging messages. Selah is truly a talented group. I can listen to this CD over and over again :).

Check out Selah's videos on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/TheSelahVideos .
Connect with Selah on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/selahmusic .

Note: Please turn off my music playlist at the bottom of this page before starting the video.

You can buy the album at http://www.amazon.com/Hope-Broken-World-Selah/dp/B004Y1QQ4A .

~ I received a copy of this album for free via Buzzplant in exchange for my honest review. Opinions are my own.

No comments:

A Must-See Video for Every Christian

Related Posts

Related Posts with Thumbnails